Day 2 with the little munchkins



Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Today I came home covered in sweat and sand…and exhausted again.
Those little munchkins are a handful and a half! I counted today and there were 44 in our class, talk about energy! And…I forgot to ask the staff again about the ages…but the sign next to the door had the numbers 2-5 on it…soooooooo…..I’m going to go out on a limb and say that’s how old they are since Wanchai mentioned something like that yesterday. Haha. 

Anyway, I managed to NOT get lost while going to and from the place. Huzzah!! No, I have not conquered public transportation, but I am a bit more comfortable. I didn’t even have to take out my map today to show the motorcycle taxi guy. He [sort of] understood me the first time. Haha. Chadathip called when I got there and when I got back just to make sure I didn’t get lost. Let’s hope it’s this smooth sailing the whole time I’m here. Traffic in the morning is so bad that I spent 10-15 mins waiting for the right bus and then almost an hour on the bus to go just a few kilometers. The bus driver at one point even sat back in his chair, folded his arms behind his head, and looked like he was asleep! Also, this whole motorcycle taxi thing may or may not be the death of me. I have come inches away from being hit by an oncoming car or another motorcycle taxi. If I ever get used to it, I’m going to whip out my camera and video it…but for now, I am going to hang on for dear life to the back of the seat. 

Today things went more smoothly at the center. The kids seemed to be more comfortable with me as well; many of them were clinging on to me or wanting to hold my hand. They are so adorable! There was one particular little boy that followed me all day and has the cutest smile! (See a few paragraphs below for the full picture roll of him) I’m glad they have this place to come and have fun so they don’t have to face this cruel world just yet. I’ve decided that because each day has it trials, each day has different kids that decide to be naughty. Haha. The kid that was the naughtiest yesterday was pretty subdued today, which meant that left room for other kids to be naughty! Nap time I think is the worst for the naughty ones. There’s always a handful that never quite fall asleep and even if they do, they wake up in about an hour or less (nap time is supposed to be almost 2 hours but the kids get too rowdy). While they were all being little angels in the first hour or so, I went upstairs where the babies are and helped them out for about half an hour. It’s impossible there b/c you’re holding one baby b/c it was crying and then she won’t let you put her down or else she’ll start crying again, and THEN another one starts crying so you do end up putting her down and picking up the other one, but that means the other one is crying and if you put the second one down she’s going to start crying TOO! Hahaha. Since there were only a handful of them, there was only one teacher and she was busy giving a shower to another kid. The other side was worse with the crying…but there were more helpers, so I didn’t feel too bad. =) 
Lining up for snack time!

Lol, he didn't like his picture being taken.

The middle kid's dad is a motorcycle taxi driver and ended up taking me to the main road when he went to pick up his kid.


She's energetic and violent. Not a good combination. Haha.

She refuses to smile...ever...although I got a hint of one today.

She's so tiny except for her eyes!!

My non-existant heart melts every time I see this.

Isn't he ADORABLE?!?!

Story time!

This was yesterday's naughty kid of the day.

He kept on wanting to touch my camera. Haha.

I think they were teaching them something nationalistic...

Twin helpers!

He randomly ran up to me and grabbed on to my leg and looked up at me...AHHHH!!! So cute!!!


Nap time!

The little angels...and the little boogers that aren't asleep.


He absolutely refused to sleep and decided to play with my toenails instead.

Someone needs to tell this kid he missed the bed. Oh well, life's too short for a mat anyways.

I ended up having to hold the one in pink b/c she started crying.


Before the kids got to run out to the playground to wait for their parents the teacher turned on videos of not only the original Oppa Gangnam style music video…but all the remakes. Face palm. Lololol.

I once again got a work out on the playground playing the “pick me up so I can reach the monkey bars and then let go two seconds afterwards so you can pick me up AGAIN!!!” game. Haha! Thankfully they’re not super heavy…but my arms and back got a good workout. Then there were the cries of “Pee!!!” (which you use to address someone that is older than you as a sign of respect so no laughing all you little immature ones =]), coming from the swings so that I could push them. Yes, my arms and back are sore, but these kids are just dying for a little love and attention. Whether or not they get it at home is another story…although the majority of them are genuinely happy to see their parents when they’re picked up, thankfully. 
I'm going to pop some kid's arm out of socket this way...please don't show Mr. Bishop. If there was one thing he told us in A&P 1 NOT to do, it was this. Hahaha.

....Yeah...the kid didn't make it into the picture, but it shows that I was there!

She likes showing off her monkey bar skills

The boys were being rowdy and had to wait to go onto the play ground. Haha.

Just one of the many that I had to pick up.


Discrepancies over who gets the swing first.

The kid that kept of following me tried to ambush me from behind but instead got wacked in the head from an oncoming swing which landed him flat on the ground face first. There was a lot of crying, I can assure you. Half an hour later, the same kid was eating a cracker, accidentally dropped it on the ground (which happens to be sand b/c the whole playground is sand), picked it up, put it back in its mouth, realized it was covered in sand, brushed it off while laughing hysterically, and put if back in its mouth. I really wanted to run to him and snatch it away from him but I think I was laughing too hard to reach him…and I’m the one supposed to be teaching these kids about health….so much for that. Haha. A little sand never hurt anyone, right?!
So here he is, ladies and gentlemen!!







On the way back I decided to stop by the supermarket that’s a few blocks away from where I’m staying so I could get something cold to drink since I was super thirsty. Yay for guava juice! It was sweltering outside when I walked back home…all this humidity and no ocean? Haha, I’m spoiled back in Malaysia. I’d better be losing weight or something with all this sweating I’m doing over here…but up until now, all I think I’m achieving is a bit of sunburn on my cheeks. I miss the days where I didn’t get sunburned so easily. And I say that loosely b/c it’s all relative. I actually tan more easily than I sunburn…but enough about that.

I have quite enjoyed the evenings here so far (especially the food! Masamam curry FTW!!). Last night I encouraged Po, to get a Kindle since she also loves to read. I let her see mine to convince her. Haha. The only thing keeping her from getting one is the fact that it’s super expensive to ship it all the way from the US to Thailand. So those of you that love online shopping, count your blessings! Tonight we all watched “The Pacifier” during dinner (the TV is always running) and had a good laugh. Po was asking questions during it like, is there really a military school for kids that are so young, and where does the vault go…which I tried to explain the basement concept. Well, I think I tried to explain it…if I wasn’t too caught up with the movie. Haha! 

Anyway, I’m really glad I have internet here b/c that means I can keep in touch with all my friends and family all around the world. Thanks so much for being so supportive and making sure I’m ok here. =) You guys are the best. 

A big shout-out to Ms. Leacock’s 6th grade class!!! I hope you guys are learning a little bit of what’s out here in the fascinating world of Asia! If you have any questions just ask Ms. Leacock to ask me and I’d be happy to answer your questions. =)

0 Response to "Day 2 with the little munchkins"

Post a Comment