Sunday, March 3, 2013
It has been a very tense 48 hours over here. Not only have
there been multiple fatalities on both sides and the rebels refuse to
surrender, but there are rumors that the rebels or factions of the group have
infiltrated the whole coast already. Last night was extremely tense when we
heard that there had been an exchange of gunfire downtown just a few miles away
from us. No one knew for sure whether it was related to the rebels or not and
there is still speculation as to whether they were or not. I think that’s the
most frustrating thing is not knowing anything for sure. The government refuses
to let out too much information which has caused even more rumors to circulate
by word of mouth and on the social networks. There have been rumors that there
has been more exchange of gunfire downtown this morning. Our family has been
taking precautions and most of us have decided evacuate to another town that’s
further away from all the commotion right now. There is talk that they want to
fly me out to the other side but there may or may not be flights going in and
out right now. Am I scared? No. Concerned? Yes. There are precious lives at
stake here. Many of my friends are either still on the islands or in town and
some of my family has decided to stay put for the time being. I’m also very
frustrated by the fact that this whole fiasco has disturbed my vacation here.
Is that selfish? Yes, but then again, if this wasn’t happening then everything
would be fine and dandy and no one would be in danger in the first place. All I
wanted to do was come here to hang out with my family [peacefully] and dive as
much as possible. I was actually supposed to go diving today too. Sigh. I just
want this to be all over with as little bloodshed as possible, but it’s never
ever that easy. This could be dragged on for as little as days to as long as months.
Now my family is talking about sending me back home for a while till this dissipates.
During dinner my uncle was making a bunch of phone calls (well, more than
usual). Apparently a lot of the locals had to evacuate from their villages and
got rounded up at a school. There were hundreds of them that were there and b/c
they evacuated so quickly they had no food and no water. Not only this, but
they were not allowed to leave or come in, so no one was allowed to go get
anything. My uncle’s workers called him up to tell him this, so my uncle told
them to take all the bread from their bakery and give it to them. When they
tried to go in to give them food the military wouldn’t even allow them to go
through. After a bunch of phone calls they finally got the police to take it in
to them.
 |
| View from my first room. |
Monday, March 4, 2013
Last night we pretty much drove around town, ate, and hung
out at the hotel’s restaurant/lobby area looking up the latest news and waiting.
This morning we were still waiting and after breakfast my aunties and I went to
go get facials while we waited some more. I think this was the longest facial
ever. The whole process took an hour and a half, granted there were three of us
at the same time, but they were being efficient nonetheless. Fanny, the owner,
always has food and never ceases to offer us tons of it for us to eat. There
were snacks that were handed to us and then a plate of food was passed on to me
and felt obligated to eat it. I feel like I'm always eating!! Haha. After we were done news that some of the
intruders were caught was cause for much relief from everyone. We decided
collectively to go back home after lunch and so we all checked out of the hotel.
I had a hard time eating lunch since I had already eaten, but my family kept on
telling me to eat and eat. If there happens to be an actual war and our food
gets rationed I’m going to be the first to die b/c my stomach is so stretched
out. Haha. We decided to go to the pasar to get veggies before going home.
While we were there, Aku Apo suddenly came to get us and told us we couldn’t go
back anymore. Apparently more rebels had landed and it was unsafe to go back.
This is what I don’t understand: how are these people just landing wherever
they please? Isn’t the military and police force supposed to be monitoring the
coastline? It is true that the boarder is very porous, but for goodness’ sake,
step it up a little! Anyway, we were all bummed out and went to my aunt’s house
to hang out and talk…except I definitely was reading my book and finished it. We
went back to the same hotel and had to check back in. Sigh. More waiting. This
is getting old.
After chilling in our rooms – I tried to learn a bit of Thai which is proving
harder than it looks…I have enough trouble with the little Chinese and Malay I
know let alone another challenging language – Auntie Belinda and Beth went to
go get their hair washed at the salon down the road. Yupp, that’s what we do
when there’s a crisis. Eat, sleep, and get facials and our hair washed. What a
life, huh? I guarantee you don’t want to be in our shoes at the present moment,
though. The waiting game is more frustrating that you know. We went to dinner
(fish jook FTW!) we dropped by my cousin’s house to talk and hang out. My
cousin has the cutest twin girls and a little boy. The twins are extremely shy,
cunning, and smart. They’ve never quite warmed up to me after all these years…haha.
Oh well, I still love them. The 4-yrs
old boy, although shy at first, sat with all the grown-ups for the longest time.
He’s rambunctious and loves his iPad with a passion. I swear he’s better at using
an iPad than I am. I finally got him to show me what he was playing on it,
which happened to be a kid’s version of Temple Run. Lolol! It was pretty funny
and I ended up being his cheerleader. He then proceeded to try to make me
listen to Three Blind Mice and The Wheels on the Bus on Youtube, but the
internet was being extremely slow and it wouldn’t load. We ended up singing it
together instead. Apparently cheering on a little boy while he plays his game
and singing with him (with hand motions!) makes you super cool b/c he kept on
telling his mother that I was fun. Hahahaha. I think he was just excited b/c
his school was cancelled the next day.
 |
| Still signing checks. Business as usual. |
 |
| When we got the call that we couldn't go back. Sigh. |
 |
| It was made out of pumpkins....weird, but good. |
 |
| Jook/juk/rice porridge |
 |
| Watching the news |
 |
| My adorable nephew |
 |
| My shy twin nieces and my cousin-in-law |
Tuesday, March 5, 2013
This morning everyone was in a better mood b/c they heard
that the shootings weren’t directly related to the siege. Apparently it was a
bunch of druggies that took the opportunity to place even more fear in people’s
hearts. Stupid people. It is still dangerous nonetheless b/c of the situation
at hand. More followers are likely to be coming to back the sultan up if they
are not here already, which is a huge concern. During breakfast my uncle was
laughing b/c apparently either the police force or the military (I can’t
remember which one) were poorly equipped and had to borrow my uncle’s boats.
Lol. So much for a vote of confidence. Auntie Belinda, who has been the worst
at keeping calm (“My teeth are clenched!”), was trying to make herself feel
better by telling us all, “This is all in the hands of God. Those people are
working for the devil. We just have to trust God.” And then she proceeded to
tell me she was going to hide behind me if anything happens. Haha. So I told
her, “You keep telling yourself that till you actually believe it.” Lolol! She’s
hilarious and I don’t know what I’d do without her. Actually, I don’t know what
I’d do without any of my family here. They’re awesome and so caring. When I
found out I was going to be here for so long I was excited b/c that meant I
would be able to spend time with all of them. I didn’t realize how much time I
would be actually spending with them. Haha! But, I’m not complaining. They’re
fun to talk to and hang out with. Anyway, after breakfast we all packed up, checked out, and
headed over to my aunt’s to pick up my other aunt (I have a lot of aunts and
uncles if you couldn’t tell). We headed to the pasar to buy some veggies and
groceries since a lot of the shops back at home were still closed. We went on
our way and then a third of the way through my uncle in front of us suddenly
called us and pulled into a small shopping complex. All of us were thinking, “Uh
oh. Not again!!” We were afraid that we couldn’t go back again b/c something
else happened. Nope…my uncle was just thinking ahead of all of us and decided
we should stop to eat before getting home since not many places were open and
we didn’t want to use up all our groceries already. Haha. What a relief! After
yummy soto and rojak we headed back and made it home in one piece. Things were
very quiet. There were only a handful of cars on the main road that usually has
tons of traffic at any given time. We’ve pretty much stayed at home all day
except to drive around to see if anything was open. I was talking to my friend
online at some point. He’s a divemaster on one of the nearby islands.
Apparently they still have guests that want to go diving at this tense time, most
of them being from China. I commented that they weren’t afraid probably b/c
their country is communist and they’re used to this stuff. Lol. At night we
were listening to the outside while we were all sitting around on our respective devices. We
all commented that the silence of no cars, no people, on the road was quite
eerie.
 |
| No cars on the road |
 |
| There's usually tons of boats. |
Wednesday, March 6, 2013
Today has been another quiet day although a lot more shops
and more people were out and about. We went out twice to drive around and also
b/c Auntie Belinda had to mail something out. Apparently everyone still needs
the post office b/c there was a huge line and the mail was piled high. We
actually had to go back later since the line to mail things out was so long. It
was good to see things slowly crawling back to normalcy. Unfortunately it’s
still not entirely safe out there and so that means no diving for me. Sad face.
There are tons of reports that the sultan’s followers are coming to back him up
still and all these other rumors. Yesterday the Malaysia gov’t tried to bomb
the area that has all the rebels and the leader claimed they missed. How true
it is, none of us really know. They could either be dead or running around here
for all we know. I know that even if they succeed in getting completely rid of
all the rebels there will be more trouble later. There is no win-win solution
here, I fear. I also fear that the Malaysian military and police force are not
equipped well enough to ward these rebels off. They have only known peace for
the last half century or so and don’t have enough training against these people
that are willing to die in a foreign place no matter what, even if they do
claim it’s theirs. I won’t even go into the subject of all the Suluk and
Tausug people that have been here for a
long time just looking for a better life. What about them? You can’t tell me
that all of them are bad people, can you? On another note, both my family and I
believe the Malaysia gov’t needs to invest in bullet-proof vests for their
police force. Unfortunately, not all the police have vests, only the higher
ranking ones have them. I believe that if the police that are doing their
rounds (and raids) have vests, there would be less bloodshed and more
confidence in our forces. That’s just my two cents though. There could be other
underlying reasons why they don’t have them that I don’t know about. Anyway, I
really haven’t done much today except for hang out with the dogs outside and my
family inside (although Auntie Belinda did come hang out with the dogs with me
b/c the breeze was amazing), and sit around playing on the computer and talking
about conspiracies. We did try to go to the plantation to look at something,
but it started raining and it was too muddy to go off-roading into the depths
of the plantation. So right now, Auntie Belinda is killing mosquitoes with this
tennis racket looking thing that zaps them and she goes, “I could’ve been a
tennis player!! Mosquito slayer!!!!!” Hahahah. This is our life. I wouldn’t
trade it for anyone else’s.
 |
| Police check point |
 |
| Skipper...he's such a stately dog. |
 |
| Kitci's favorite spot. |
Thursday, March 7, 2013
The town is slowly going back to normal. More so in the
morning than the afternoon as many shops aren’t willing to stay open all day.
When we went out for breakfast we had to circle around twice to find a parking
spot while crawling at the pace of a turtle b/c more and more cars are out and about
now. My auntie believes that her flowers outside bloomed because good things
are about to happen. =) We sure could use some right now. I feel like a
prisoner within our gates. Ok, I just wanted to write that b/c it sounded
dramatic. Hahaha…but, honestly it’s really not that bad. It’s just that we’re
taking precautions and don’t want to be stupid about going out so much and
stuff, which is why I haven’t gone diving this whole week. This makes me
incredibly sad, especially since all my diving friends saw a WHALE SHARK this
week. It’s only the TOP thing on my list of things to see whilst diving. No big
deal. *Excuse me while I assume the fetal
position and rock myself to sleep.*
Lol. I’ll get over it. Other than breakfast we went to the plantation to
check things out there…and to look at rocks. Don’t ask. Lol. We hung out with
the dogs some more while enjoying the breeze outside. Even though we haven’t
been doing much except stay at home, I’m thankful that we have electricity,
running water, internet, food, and a loving family. We’re doing better than a
lot of people out there so I can’t complain. =)
 |
| My favorite breakfast or snack: roti canai with curry and milo |
 |
| Isn't Berani ADORBS!? |
 |
| He also likes to lay next to the food and eat...haha. That's what's up. |
 |
| A pot of kaya?! Yum. |
 |
| Police trying to be sneaky. Ok, just looking out for the well-being of the citizens. |
Friday
and Saturday? Ehh...not much difference. Nothing exciting except for
the fact that we drove all the way to another town for lunch after going
to the plantation, just b/c...and kind of to see how they were faring.
Later on today we drove down to the sea side and chilled on the ocean,
which was much needed. Trust me. Haha.
 |
| I <3 Sabah. |
 |
| The village where all the action took place. |
 |
| Monkey just chilling on the roof. |
 |
| I have missed the ocean quite considerably. |
 |
| My awesome aunt. |
 |
| My equally awesome uncle....I had to sneak that shot in. Haha. |
 |
| Spoiled brat...has an iPad and an iPhone. Ahahahah. |
I'm
so tired of reading all the news articles. So tired of all the
confusion, the corrupt-ness, the lies, the uncertainty, and the deaths.
There has to be another way. Please continue praying please!!!
0 Response to "A chronicle of these past days of being invaded. "
Post a Comment