Day 10 and I'm thankfully in one piece still!



Wednesday, March 20, 2013

Today, I am ashamed to say, after a week and a half of being here (and officially the midpoint of my time here), I got semi-lost. Lol, I know, I know! I was doing so well!! But, I guess I was either not paying attention or something, b/c I lost count of the number of bridges we went under and over and we totally went past my stop. I remember looking out and thinking that looked a lot like my stop, but the window was in my way from seeing the road sign, plus I thought we hadn’t gone over the fourth bridge yet. As we went along I began realizing that I hadn’t see any of the buildings outside before, plus we weren’t going over any bridges anymore, so I decided to get out and walk back to see if that was, indeed, my stop. I walked about 10 mins or so and it was, very much so, the road I needed. Phew! Sigh of relief! Crisis averted! 

Today, there were more people that visited the center…I’m beginning to notice that there are a lot of people that come off to donate things as well as to walk around, take pictures of and with the kids, and pretend they’re helping. Lol. I really shouldn’t judge, but as I was putting food on the plates for the kids, and one of the visitors wanted to pose as if she was doing it……..and then after the picture she went to go pose with more kids. Like, I paid a LOT of money here to volunteer at this place and they come in to take pictures of themselves pretending so they can show all their friends they’re doing a great job in life. *I’m totally not bitter…ok, maybe I am a little bit, Jesus, please forgive me.* They probably donated lots of money or are trying to look good for the public or have some good reason!! Haha! Who knows. Ok, I’m done. Sorry about my mini-rant.

Besides the fact that same girl that fell asleep on me yesterday almost threw up on me, it was a good day for the kids. Lol. Let me explain about the throw-up…not that you want or need to know. You can skip to the next paragraph if you don’t want to read about it. Haha. So during lunch time sometimes the staff have to feed the kids that are either in la-la land or aren’t eating for whatever reason. So I was helping the little girl eat and she was being so extremely slow at chewing and refused to eat a lot. She was smiling at me the whole time though (that is what threw me for a loop). So I went to go feed another kid and came back to her and she had turned herself completely facing the other way. So I went to go turn her back to her food…and that’s when she let loose. All the lunch went on the floor/chair/table/her clothes and a little bit on my foot and pants. Oh dear….Lol. So I had one of the older girls clean it up while I raced her to the bathroom/shower area of their classroom. Striped her down and drenched her with water. She screamed bloody murder when I put soap on her and lathered her up. Probably got in her eyes the way she was pulling at my shirt screaming and trying to wipe her face on it. Lol. After I rinsed her as fast as I could, she was all smiles when I put clean clothes on her. Lol. (During the second bath, she screamed bloody murder again when Bo was giving everyone showers, so I didn’t feel too bad, haha.)
Remember how I talked about arts and crafts yesterday? Yeah...this is it. Haha.
So this little girl never goes to sleep during nap time, so Duang gave her hot chilies as "punishment" (you know when you say a bad word and your mom gives you hot sauce? Yeah...) but she apparently liked it so much that Duang gave her more. Hahahah, fail.

Coconut milk ice cream with sticky rice!!! Yummm.

Telling under the sea stories.

Getting her hair DID.
Lol. The Whos from Whoville come to mind...Hahaha. Or Pippy Longstocking.

THE naughtiest girl you will EVER find. EVER. Just look at that face.

She's such a diva. Hahah, but she's so cute!!


Number one reason you don't have a little kid take the picture for you...it's never in focus and they keep on asking to use your camera to take random photos of themselves.

Having a moment with the tattle-tale of the class. Haha. He's so naughty too.

I <3 these girls.
They had a meeting for the parents today and by the looks of it (well when I happened to peek in), it was explaining how to administer the Heimlich maneuver on an infant. When the meeting was done, I was supposed to get a lift from one of the parents back to the main road since they are a motorcycle taxi driver, but I think he ran out of gas or something b/c the motorcycle wouldn’t start and he had someone else take me that was going that way already. 

In other news, I might have the opportunity to go out to the slums – these kids’ homes – to assess things and get a feel for where they really come from. When I see them in the awesome facility here in their little uniforms, I sometimes forget where they come from, so this will be good experience, I think. Hopefully things pan out and I’m able to do this, so please pray for me!
Still working on pictures!! My computer keeps on freezing on me though. Boo.

0 Response to "Day 10 and I'm thankfully in one piece still!"

Post a Comment