Day 11 and I'm so sleepy.



Thursday, March 21, 2013

I have a lot of respect for teachers, especially those that teach the little ones…but teachers in general. So, a shout-out to all the teachers out there and particularly the ones that had the “privilege” of teaching me. Haha, I was such a brat…who am I kidding? I still am. Hah!

Also, I feel as if I could contract some disease somehow. Half of the kids have been sick this week and the amount of crud and who-knows-what we all pick up on our feet from running around the place is something I don’t even want to think about. You can tell that I have adapted though. Last week I kept on using hand sanitizer, and this week I’ve only used it once or twice. I’m really going to catch some disease now. Haha. So much for being a health freak – when in Rome, do as the Romans do? Lol. 

So, today, I’m pretty sure I took part in some Buddhist ritual or some sort of meditation, but I’m not quite sure. My mom’s side of the family is mostly Buddhist, so incense, Buddha statutes, alters, kneeling and bowing, chanting, and meditation really don’t faze me very much. This was different though. They had all the kids sit in a circle, their legs crossed, hands one on top of the other facing up at waist-level, and eyes closed (or they were supposed to be closed but they only stayed shut for like two seconds). Then one by one Duang would tell them to stand up and start walking around the circle while some guy on a CD was saying something meditative-like. They were supposed to be walking very slowly, hands still in the same position, and I think eyes closed (someone please tell me why that’s a good idea…I have images of kids tripping over one another if they really had done that), but, of course, the kids would have none of that. They were walking fast, passing one another to get ahead, and not being very meditative at all. Oh well. Who knows what I was participating in? Lol!

Every so often, Dunag takes about 10 kids (that have been [semi] well-behaved) out of the center, away from the rest of the kids to the house across the road as sort of a “field trip.” This time I went with her and the lady that was there gave us tons of baby bananas for us to eat and then they sang songs. 

Banana time!

I think they were singing nursery rhymes.
He's SO cute and naughty.

He hardly ever speaks but likes to swing his arms and hit anyone he can.
He has the cutest smile though.


Clamoring for a cup and toothbrush.


Bo administering toothpaste.
I finally got the two boys that hardly EVER fall asleep during nap time to sleep...and then then woke one of them (middle left below) up 20 mins later. I was so distraught. Lol. Nap time was great today b/c I got the number of kids awake down to three....and then 10 mins later other kids started waking up. Lol, epic fail.

 They also were filming a few kids saying “thank you” for something or another…it was mildly entertaining to watch the kids practice whatever they were saying. =)

Practicing what they were going to say and wai-ing (the prayer-like hands). To "wai" is to greet someone and also a respectful way to say "thank you".


The older girls do NOT look amused. Lol.

She has the hardest nickname...I can never pronounce it right. Ying Laht? I'm bad at this.



0 Response to "Day 11 and I'm so sleepy."

Post a Comment