Stranded!!



Day 9-10


We finally got to sleep in!! Which meant that many of us read at our own leisure and lazed around. Book worms…what nerds. At some point a few of us got a massage in house, yes, house service! The lady left after first one b/c I don’t think she knew there were more of us that wanted one, so we had to call her to come back. We’re spoiled brats, haha. Since we had our own kitchen, that meant that we could cook! Thankfully the majority of us know how to cook. =) Worked on research design the rest of the night in my room since it was laid out differently than everyone else’s. 
 
The road right outside our house.

Dinner!

Working on our research design....rough times.


Next morning Katie, Helen, Maggie, and I woke up super early to go on a boat ride. We got on a very small fishing boat with the Fishery Law Enforcement Team. We went to the middle of the ocean to see something…I’m not actually sure what we were looking at…then we went to go see the mangroves. Half-way there our boat engine gave out at sandbar (conveniently? lol). So we were stranded and had to call someone to rescue us. We were sweltering in the intense heat b/c the boat had no cover. The water looked too inviting so of course I had to jump in – fully clothed. It was probably the best decision I had made in a long time. Lol. To be fair, I was in board shorts and tank top already. After Katie looked longingly at me in the water she goes, “Will I regret it if I don’t jump in?” So Helen said, “ How hot are you?”  Katie: “Pretty hot.”  Helen: “Well, there’s your answer.”
So Katie jumped in fully clothed…t-shirt and jeans. No regrets. We carpe’d the crap out of that diem. Hahaha.
We got to swim around and hang off the boat for a very long time until the other boat came to pick us up. It was hilarious trying to get back in the boat since there was no ladder. The other boat towed our boat to nearby village on coast and we still got to see mangroves!
While we waited at the captain’s house they brought us fresh young coconuts to enjoy! We ate so many….haha.
We drove back in barangay’s SUV (barangay = village). It was a super bumpy ride…and I had to pee really bad, plus I was sleep, and still wet from jumping into the ocean – not a good combination. That definitely made for a very interesting ride!
This all happened before noon, even though it felt a lot longer for some reason. 

Tranquility.

Shade!

We're on a boat!

Katie, Helen, Maggie, and myself under the hot sun.

This is the thing we went to see in the middle of the ocean. I'm still not really sure what it is.

Yay for crystal clear water!


Stole this from Katie since I didn't take any pics of us in the water on my phone.


Getting towed.

They made a make-shift roof for us on the boat!

Clouds!!

Village!

More village!

Chillin' at the captain's house.


Coconuts and our new friends!

More coconuts!

Riding around in the barangay's SUV!

Coconut farm.

This is their air pump station....

Pumping up that tire.


That afternoon we had a group meeting where we went to meet other two translators at some community place – AKA, where all the youth like to hang out. This was another meeting to go over things with everyone…Weanne finally arrived too!
After dinner we had one last meeting to finalize things before we put everything into motion the next day. We were trying to print all our guides out on the tiny printer Helen brought over with her….but the printer wouldn’t work. After trying fruitlessly for an hour, we finally went to sleep. Sigh. The struggle. 

View of Guinayangan, Quezon

Having another meeting.

I really only posted this b/c of the classic Katie face.

0 Response to "Stranded!!"

Post a Comment