In the season of love, weddings, and engagements, I have
been having my own love affair…with the ocean…lol. I’ve also have been having a
blast with my family in nature. =D My lovely parents and baby cousin finally
arrived this past week (at the time of this writing...which was LONG time ago) and we’ve been having a grand ol’ time.*they actually arrived like....4 weeks ago...which tells you how long I've not updated....epic fail on my part*
But let’s back up.
*Btw, congrats to all my friends that have gotten hitched in the past few weeks!!*
After diving last Sunday, I was determined to study my
Divemaster book and take the test before the parental unit arrived. So I
scheduled to take my test on Monday night. That gave me a whole day to review
everything without having my brain go to mush from all the information. Monday night came around and Hafiz postponed
the test till the next night because he claimed he didn’t have the test. =.=
But I didn’t want to do it at the night since my parents were arriving in the
afternoon I wanted to take the test in the morning…so we finally came to a
compromise and decided to do an hour or two before mummy and daddy were to
arrive. I studied some more the next morning and was totally brain dead so I
took a nap…and it wasn’t even noon yet! Haha. I finally went to the office to
take the test and 45 minutes and 120 questions later I proved myself and got a
98% on the test! Jefrey took a marker and tattooed me up after that as
initiation. Usually they make you do crazy drinking stuff, but since I don’t
drink, fake tattoos had to suffice. Five tattoos and many congratulations later
I finally booked it out of there and met the family at my amah’s house where my
parents and cousin FINALLY had arrived.
Thank you to my lovely instructor, Hafiz, and his assistant, Jef, for teaching me and also to my uncle for giving me this opportunity to further my diving education!!
 |
| With my two instructors, Jef and Hafiz |
 |
| All artwork by Jeffry |
 |
| I look really dark and muscular here...but don't be fooled...haha. |
 |
| Jef still writing on my leg. Haha |
 |
| Pana Tem Divemonster!!!! |
 |
| I'd like to think that this was my reward for passing my test.... |
I had called my aunt while I was still in the office to ask
for an address and got to tell my mom about my awesome score.
Me: Mom!! I got a 98% on my DM test!!
Mom: What?? You
didn’t get a 100%?!?
Problems of a Tiger Kid. SMH.
Haha, anyway, we all had a good reunion and I am a proud
owner of two boxes of mac & cheese. Hey, sometimes you miss comfort
food...but only sometimes. Haha.
The next day I got to go diving again at Sipadan with Roslee
and Black and a few guests…we had a grand time FREEZING our butts off. It
rained ALL day and it was windy and just awful. Actually we had a good time
trying to stay warm and the visibility underwater was actually pretty good
considering the conditions. On our third dive we saw all the schools of fish
that are famous around here. There was a current while we were looking at the
huge, ugly school of bumphead fish (I still have yet to take a picture of them
this time around) and one of our divers REALLY wanted to see them…so Roslee hooked
himself to a rock and just relaxed. Not to be left out, I grabbed onto him so I
didn’t have use up all my energy kicking against the current. The other two
divers ended up grabbing onto either him or the rope in the end…so there were four
of us clustered together trying not to get swept away while the other diver was
just holding on to another rock in a trance.
The next day, Baby and I ran around town running some
errands and going between houses. Oh…and we also had a steamboat night and BBQ
night somewhere in there. =) Our family knows how to EAT. *those pictures are somewhere later in this post....*
Friday dawned gloomy and cloudy. This was a problem mainly
because we were supposed to climb a mountain. This wasn’t just any ordinary
mountain, but one of many islands that make up the Tun Sakaran Marine Park. We
all piled into one of our boats and zoomed over. I was feeling particularly ill
that morning and was slightly thankful when we got there and they told us it
was too slippery to climb. So I laid down to rest and everyone else jumped in
the water to snorkel. An hour or so later it stopped raining and looked as if
it was clearing up. I finally felt a little bit better and they gave us the
go-ahead to climb up. Let me tell you…it was still extremely slippery. Six
hundred meters and a lot of slipping and sliding later we finally reached the
top!!! And boy, was it worth it! The view from up there was amazing!! It was
one of those, “wow…I live in a beautiful world” moments. After snapping a bunch
of pictures and admiring the view, we slipped and slid our way back down 600m
and finally made our way to the ocean.
 |
| Uncle Paul excited to start the climb! |
 |
| Yan, our personal guide and helper |
 |
| Making the grueling climb |
 |
| My aunties and mummy....and Yan...hahaha. |
 |
| The ladies of the group =) |
 |
| The men of the group, minus Uncle Paul |
 |
| Yan is so cool. Haha =) |
 |
| The beautiful view |
 |
| If you look closely, you can see little dots that are the rest of the family who didn't make the climb...haha. |
 |
| The other side. |
 |
| We live in a beautiful world |
 |
| Letter climbed it in his wetsuit...bahahaha. |
 |
| Chilling like a villain. |
 |
| Our climbing group! |
 |
| Me and mommy...and my teeny tiny eyes...hahaha. |
 |
| So proud of Auntie Belinda!! ;) Hahaha. |
 |
| This is me excited...I think...? |
 |
| Tired and happy |
 |
| The adventurous Auntie Beth. Thanks for making this happen!! |
 |
| The only complete couple in our climbing group...hahaha. |
 |
| This dog climbed the whole way up with us!! |
 |
| Yan helped mommy climb up and down all 600m! |
 |
| That's where we went...seaside view. |
 |
| Our happy group eating and snorkeling...and making business calls? |
We spent the rest of the afternoon
snorkeling, eating, and spending time with each other. Auntie Belinda claimed
the award for falling the most that day…hahaha! She slipped on the way down
from the mountain and then on the jetty, she slipped and fell on three steps.
BOOM BOOM BOOM!!! Hahahahah. She had a HUGE bruise on her butt the next day and
she was lamenting about how it hurt so much. Lolol. Aku Apo actually slipped on
the same stairs but managed to roll sideways into the water. Lol.
Daddy used my underwater camera while he was snorkeling and I was climbing.
Another pastime of ours recently has been climbing Bukit
Tengkorak which is a volcanic rock-shelter site and part of a volcano mouth that
is 2km in diameter. It’s apparently an archaeological site and is said to be the
largest pottery making factory in Southeast Asia during the Neolithic period.
It’s about 600 ft or 183 m above sea level so it’s a pretty easy climb once you
do it a few times. It’s absolutely gorgeous up on top b/c you have a pristine
view of Semporna and the numerous islands around the coast. It now has stairs
95% of the way up, but I can remember back in the day when we were little kids
having to hack our way through the brush and scramble up volcanic rocks. Anyway...it was a beautiful view of Semporna.





Baby has adjusted pretty well to the time zone over here but
she still wakes up at random times in the morning. This particular morning both
of us were awake at 7am and no one else was…and we were hungry. So we took one
of the trucks and hightailed it over to a martabak (roti) place since we heard
it was pretty good there. It WAS and we enjoyed martabak telur (roti with egg).
=)
Somehow we ended up going out to breakfast AGAIN with the
rest of the family when we got back home (we’re such fatties). In the next hour
or so I found myself in the trunk of the SUV with Baby on our way to her
cousin’s house.
 |
| In the back of the SUV...in the trunk... |
Unfortunately her cousin’s newborn baby had passed away due to
cardiomegaly. It was so heartbreaking…especially when they were dismantling the
baby’s crib in the family room and putting it back into the box. SO SAD. It
was, at the same time, fascinating to witness a Muslim funeral. In true Muslim
fashion, they must bury the dead as fast as possible, preferably in less than
24 hrs. They wrapped the baby in many white sheets and then in a Persian
rug…and then the imam (Muslim priest) recited a prayer with men that were
haji...I’m still trying to figure out that…but Hafiz, my instructor, was one of
them standing there. It was quite intriguing to say the least.
 |
| Preparing the cloths |
 |
| The daddy with the baby ready to be wrapped in the cloths. |
 |
| The hijad and imam? I'm not really sure. But they were reciting prayers. |
So…my family is very spontaneous. It was 9:30pm and I was
getting sleepy and contemplating going to bed when all of a sudden, we decided
to go get a massage….for TWO hours. Yeah...I was so tired when we finally got
back…hahaha.
Another thing my family is good at is eating. I kid you not.
We’re forever eating. And it’s always good food too. =)
 |
| Enjoying hotpot/steamboat |
 |
| BBQ!! |
 |
| Best salad dressing ever. |
 |
| More eating. |
 |
| LOVE this dish. |
Monday night, Jefrey, Roslee, Auntie Beth, Baby, and I all
embarked on Baby’s first sunset and night dive. We went on this endeavor for a
number of reasons. First of all, Baby needed to try out her new equipment and
second of all, she needed to complete a night dive to fulfill her Advance Open
Water certification requirements. The sunset dive was pretty uneventful but the
night dive was quite fun. Actually, all night dives have a level of
excitement…mainly b/c it’s at night. Obviously. Haha. Yes, we all used
flashlights, I can assure you. I had a lot of fun coming up behind Roslee and
scaring him…and catching him when he tried to sneak up behind me and scare me.
Lol. Another thing about night dives is that if you close your light and wave
your hand around in the water you can witness bioluminescence plankton…or what
I like to call, underwater night glitter. It’s the coolest thing ever. I think
I could just sit there and wave my hand around for the whole dive and play with
it. It’s so cool to close your light and then follow behind someone b/c their
fins create the glow as well and it’s like they’re kicking glitter!!! Hahaha.
The only drawback from night diving is that your light attracts lots of little
tiny worms and other squiggly creatures that squirm and make you squirm just
looking at them squirm. Hahaha.
 |
| Dusk |
 |
| Ready to dive! |
 |
| Baby's anticipation on her first night dive with Jef! |
 |
| Waiting for the darkness to fall upon us...hahahaha. |
 |
| Cutie pies!! |
 |
| I <3 them so much. Hahaha. |
The next day the girls and Wang-Wang all went to Tawau to
get pampered…well Wang-Wang had to go get his teeth fixed…lol. Rough times for
him.
So, I forgot to mention the fact that after I flew back from
Bali, I had to stop over at KL overnight…and I got to hang out with my friend,
Apong…AKA Raja Tolek!! Hahahah. I met Apong a few years ago when he was working
as a DM at Mataking Island. Since then, I have Skyped with him countless times,
especially late at night when I was doing my homework during college. Haha. He
has been my source of encouragement from the other side of the world all these
years and I am forever grateful to him. Anyway, it was already late when I got
in…so what did we do?? We went to eat…hahaha. Of course. SMH.



Now, comes the dedication portion of the post. In the picture below is Letter and myself. He was a DM at BGS and has recently been summoned for police inspector training which is sad for me b/c he won't be diving with us anymore. We've had some good times diving, talking, eating, teasing, learning, and spending time with each other. Thanks for the memories and I wish you the best of luck, my goh-goh (哥哥)!! I hope to dive with you again in the future!!
0 Response to "My family is pretty much awesome. "
Post a Comment